A Domain by Any Other Name Would Smell as Sweet …

For those of you who, like me, are still a bit confused with the whole Domain/Sub-Domain/Add-on Domain/Parked Domain thing … How Interactive Technology blog featured a 3-part series of articles by Patrick McNeil about Domains, Domain Names, and Web Hosting. Part 1 discusses how to register a domain. Your domain name can be registered with a different service than your web host (and apparently, if you have many of them, it’s a good idea to gang them at one spot).
Part 2 (the more technical part) talks about domain name services (domains, sub-domains, etc.), the difference between a domain name and a host name, where to point a domain name, etc. And, after reading this, even I think I am starting to understand this stuff.
By the time you get to Part 3, you will be better informed about hosting services and plans. And, of course, (after I chose the cheapest site I could possibly find) he states that for web hosting, you really get what you pay for.
All in all, I wish I had taken the time to really research this stuff before I signed on, but, I only signed up for a year, and by the end of that time, I should be much smarter than I am now about all of the options.

Leave a Reply

