Bookclubnook.com outline

Bookclubnook.com design idea2

Book Club Nook

A website to help book clubs find books to read and discuss.

When it’s your turn to host book club, you can turn to bookclubnook.com to find good suggestions, questions, recipes to serve, possible door prizes or favor, good time to read the novel and even more. They are many sources for finding good books to read, but that does not necessarily mean they would work for a book club. Is there enough to discuss? What are questions to discuss beyond “What did you think?” or “Did you like the book?” And yes, there are plenty of great book club books, but if you can’t get them from the library and don’t want to purchase it every month, what do you do? We are not just talking about good books, but good books for book clubs.

Proposed url: www.bookclubnook.com. I have already reserved this url at Tiger Technologies.

Content

Bookclubnook.com will have evergreen material on classic books, recent bestsellers, plus new information on current and popular books.

A review of Kindles, Nooks, reading on iPads, would also be helpful to the bookworm visiting the site.

I’d like to have a section where readers could submit their ideas, “A what we’re reading now.”

Another section would be book vs. movie with more detail as to how they different, without spoilers.

More:

An About Page:

A site map:

A Terms of Use, Privacy Statement, Copyright Page and Contact Us

Share buttons

A Submit page

A logo

My WordPress theme choices are Pinboard, Gridspace, and Just Desserts.

A hover or click over each “pin” would leader to separate tabs: why was it recommended, questions a book club could consider, possible treats to serve at the meeting, etc. The “pin” would be the cover of each book.

I would like to make the sizes of the “pins” adjustable, possibly so readers of the book and to the website could vote on it, making it larger compared to the others. The bigger the better so to speak.

Navigation

On the front page, I envision a row of tabs for “New and Noteworthy,” “Classics,” “Series,” “Authors,” “Genres,” and so on. This would appear above the pins of book jackets. I want the look to resemble a forward facing bookshelf.

I want a sidebar which would be “book vs. movie,” including a “see it or avoid” poll. This could possibly sidebar down the right side of the site.

Content Plan

I anticipate the site to be fully populated at initial launch, with weekly updates on new books, or re-read classics. The front page will have book jackets on which you can click, taking you to a new page with book club questions, advice on when is the best time to read the book, memorable quotes, possible recipes and gift ideas, and suggested time to read the particular book. After the initial launch, I plan to update once a week. Content will be original, written by me, and link to other partners, such as author interviews and recipes blogs. I would welcome submissions by readers, including short reviews.

Blogroll and Aggregation

New York Times Books page

Powell’s Books Blog

Amazon Book Clubs

Goodreads Groups

Barnes and Noble Book Club

Oprah’s Book Club

The Literacy Company

Quotations Page – Famous Quotes by Author

Book Club Suggestions

Flashlight Worthy

I plan to aggregate occasional posts, such as the following example:

About

I’m including my About section:

If your idea of a great night out away from your shelf of responsibilities is getting together and gabbing about a great read, you’re just like me. You don’t have to have the latest, greatest, popular book, but you want a well-written and discussion-provoking read.

I grew up with a flashlight under the covers. I was part of our elementary school’s Nancy Drew Crew, so dubbed by the school librarian. I participated in Junior Great Books and I still have my dogearred paperback copies. I cringe when I find myself saying to my children at 11 o’clock at night, “Close that book and turn off the light right now!”

I’ve never left my Jane Austen phase, or even my J.K. Rowling spell. Dabbled in Hemingway, Twain, Ephron, Joseph Conrad, Agatha Christie, Beverly Cleary, C.S. Lewis, Kate DiCamillo, Richard Scarry, Suzanne Collins, and even, yes, Twilight.

My favorites range from Lois Lowry’s The Giver to Edward Abbey’s The Monkey Wrench Gang, returned to Jane Austen’s Persuasion, and jumped to Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

A great book club needs great books, thoughtful questions and a delicious ending. We can point you and your book club to great reads that make for good book club selections.

A friend sent me this quote while I was reading “The Forgotten Garden: “That moment when you finish a book, look around, and realize that everyone is just carrying on with their lives as though you didn’t just experience emotional trauma at the hands of a paperback.”

Leave a Reply

