I Miss Hotdogs Site Inspiration

“I Miss Hotdogs” is a food and lifestyle blog intended to inspire girls to enjoy healthier, more active, and energy-filled days.  Content will range from  fitness  tips, recipes, occasional app, article and product reviews, inspirational photos and quotes, and personal content as I strive to achieve a much needed balance in my own life.  While recipes will be primarily vegan and gluten free–it is intended to be a fun, tasty and welcoming space for carnivores and omnivores alike, as I believe that what you put in your mouth is your own business! This is just my journey and for the purpose of full disclosure, I really miss hotdogs.

The three sites I chose were Thug Kitchen, Green Kitchen Stories, and Fitnika.

1. Fintika
Fitnika is the Tumblr of a 19 year old girl who follows a gluten-free vegan diet and is an avid weight lifter. The Tumblr documents her nearly 40lb weight loss which she achieved through healthy eating and exercise alone. It is a highly visual site filled with motivational pictures, quotes, and personalized content. I like to look at it when I don’t feel in the mood to go to the gym :). While this site is much more heavily weighted towards fitness, the aspects I appreciate and intend to include in my blog are motivational images, personal anecdotes, and an overall focus on healthy living.

2. Green Kitchen Stories
Green Kitchen Stories takes the reader inside the kitchen of a young family as they prepare healthy vegetarian food and share bits and pieces of their daily life. The blog was named Best Special Diets Blog by Saveur.com and in my opinion is by far the strongest of the three in terms of graphic design and photography. One aspect of the blog I really like is that the couple remains very active on Instagram which gives viewers a look at their lives outside the kitchen. I intend to use Instagram as an integral way to engage my readers between blog posts.

3. Thug Kitchen
Thug Kitchen is my personal favorite food blog because of its sheer entertainment value. The posts are simple and the author does an excellent job of using humor to educate readers on healthy eating. Many readers don’t even realize the recipes featured on Thug Kitchen are entirely plant-based. This is the same sort of tone I hope to capture in my blog.   Above all else, I want to keep the reader inspired, motivated and entertained.

Leave a Reply

