Do these follow the rule of thirds?

I love these photos, in today’s New York Times magazine, taken with a phone camera. As I think about how to improve my photography so that I’ll be able to post more of my own photos on my travel blog, these photos are wonderful inspiration. Do you think they follow the rule of thirds?

One thought on “Do these follow the rule of thirds?

  1. Andrea Leigh Ptak

    Thanks for the link. Some of the photos are terrific. With the square crop, the rule of thirds is less functional. Some still put their focal point on an approximate rule of third spacing, but others don’t at all, and kept their subject smack in the middle of the square. Of those, some worked, others not so much, IMHO.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

