Ride the Photo Carousel on WordPress

I am looking forward to this week’s class on using images and videos in our blogs.  When I was searching for themes for my blog, I was drawn to several that included “Carousel” plug-ins for images.  Carousel is the full-screen slide show presentation of images, so that if you place a gallery of images in a post, when someone is reading that post and clicks on the first image, the slide show opens in full screen and you can view all the images in show.

This is a great way to present a set of images and allow viewers on all devices to scroll through a set of images.  You can organize the images in a particular order such as a time sequence or from large view to detailed.  It is pretty easy to use if you either have a carousel plug-in on your theme, or you can add one of numerous carousel plug-ins to your theme (though I have not learned about adding our own plug ins yet!).  When you create a new post and choose to “Add Media,” click on “Create Gallery” and then either select or upload photos that you want to include on the carousel for your post.  You can click and drag photos around in the gallery to rearrange their order in the show.

Our blog here is already set up for Carousel, so you can see what happens with the gallery of photos that I have included in this post.  Enjoy the ride!

This entry was posted in WordPress How-To on by .

About David KH

A citizen of Cascadia, I am interested in what triggers us into joy and especially how art and literature do such triggering. I am a writer of poetry and fiction, and an artist--and have enjoyed a varied and engaging career in education and non-profits in the greater Seattle area. May this blog help you connect with amazing ways artists and writers are engaging creatively with poetry and literature today. And also, help you discover your own triggers of joy.

2 thoughts on “Ride the Photo Carousel on WordPress

  1. jean

    David,
    When I read your post I couldn’t help thinking about riding the old Woodlawn Park Zoo carousel. As a child I felt so dizzy/elated as I felt my body spin faster than my eyes could focus! It’s likely some blog readers may be overwhelmed by a series of images – especially if they are unfamiliar with the Carousel Media option.
    I don’t know if the Word Press Carousel photographs can be timed to reveal themselves, one after another, at a specific pace. But within a blogger’s fantasy, I would favor a full-frame photograph followed by a close-up view, for each illustration. The order would be a valuable resource for retentive memories.
    Best wishes,
    Jean

    Reply

Leave a Reply

