Project Summary: The Scriptorium

I have decided to use the project as an exploration of a subject I am interested in as a way to follow the interest and gather information in one place. It is really a simple and personal blog which I don’t intend to be seen by the world, as I am not a scholar of the subject. I think it is a good exercise for me to learn to create/structure a blog.

So here is an outline for my project about illuminated manuscripts:

OUTLINE

1. HOME:  title, picture of a scriptorium, menu, and blog
2.  ABOUT: statement about purpose of blog
• ABOUT ME: info about me
3. HISTORY:
4. STYLES:
• Insular
• Byzantine
• Carolingian
• Ottonian
• Romanesque
• Gothic
• International
• Renaissance
5. MODERN
• St. John’s Bible
• Illuminated Origins of the Species
• show work in progress
• link to website
• link to KickStarter video
6. MY SCRIPTORIUM
• pictures of my drafting table, work materials
• gallery of my related work
7. RESOURCES
• links to websites of interest for illuminated manuscripts
• links to sources for materials: kidskin, ground pigments, tempera materials, gold leaf, etc.
• museum website links

Audience
Artists and amateur aficionados interested in the methods and historical canon of illuminated manuscripts.

Editorial Calendar
While in any work-related situation I use and appreciate the structure of an editorial calendar, I don’t think I would really have a use for one here.

Leave a Reply

